4th Gustav Mahler Prize Cello Competition 2022

The organizer

of the competition is the Gustav Mahler Institute Prague (Institut Gustava Mahlera Praha) in cooperation with the Gustav Mahler Philharmonic Jihlava (Filharmonie G. Mahlera Jihlava).

The mission and goal of the competition 
is to deepen the interest and motivation of young talented violoncellists to interpret mutual understanding, interpretative confrontation, inspiration and love for music. The personality of the genius conductor and musical composer Gustav Mahler, who lived in Jihlava for the first 15 years of his life and inspired and enriched so much, reminds him of his noble ideas about the mission of music and is a permanent inspiration source and model for young musicians from all over the world.



Applications shall be submitted exclusively electronically by completing an online form at www.mahler.institute (at the end of this page) and paying a registration fee. A certificate of payment of the fee shall accompany the application. Applications may be submitted no later than December 31, 2021. In case of high interest, the organiser reserves the right to terminate receipt of applications before that date.

Registration fee:

Registration fee:   1st - 5th category - € 40
                                6th - 8th category - € 75
                            9th - 11th category - € 100

Pay the registration fee by bank transfer:
IBAN: CZ4820100000002601525645

Owner: Institut Gustava Mahlera, z.s.
address: Fio banka, a.s., Millennium Plaza, V Celnici 10, 117 21 Prague, Czech Republic

You can pay the fee via PayPal (please contact us)
Please, enter the name of the competitor in the note/message to the recipient. Bank fees go to the competitor. 

The registration fee is non-refundable.

Application form

Wait for confirmation that your application has been successfully submitted. If you have a problem submit your application, please contact us here